Skip to content

NIGHTMARE

26 August, 2012

The theme is always the same.

I’m back in Viet Nam for another tour.  I’ve been there before and have the reassuring comfort of familiarity.  I can do this.

I have as well the brotherhood.  Back in that day, troops rotated in as individuals, not units.  Relationships had been forged in tribulation and few embraced the fresh meat.  Returning, in the dream, I was an accepted veteran, and that felt good.

In the dream, I tell myself  I can survive this.  I’ve been here and I know what to do.  Though the scenes and locations differ, it always comes down to the same situation.  We are told a massive assault is coming and troops are gearing up.

I have on my fatigues and boots but can find nothing else.

Sometimes I die, sometimes I don’t.

I am visited less and less frequently by that ghost but the feeling is always so eerie and I awaken in a sweat.  One would think that 44 years later the storm would have departed.  One would be wrong.

 

From → Stories & Poetry

One Comment
  1. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyway, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

Comments and criticisms are encouraged

