Skip to content

AIR … HEAD?

8 January, 2012

Based on how often I see them used, I’m sure it’s just me that’s annoyed (being The Curmudgeon I can be annoyed by a sunny day), but I really hate air quotes.  I mean; are they really necessary or just another sheep factor fad?

Close behind is the hand with the thumb and pinky extended that somehow must be held up to the head like a telephone hand set when simply speaking of talking on the telephone.  It’s the sheep factor in spades.

Air guitar I can handle as a gesture of exhuberance about a great rock riff, but I give a mental middle finger to air quotes and the hand phone.

 

Leave a Comment

Comments and criticisms are encouraged

